Rowing U - Washington Rowing

SWEEP Online

The Girls in the Boat

Congratulations to the 1984 and 1985 women’s crews for earning a spot in the Husky Hall of Fame. 

  • The ‘84 and ‘85 Washington women’s varsity eights won both the Pac-10 Conference championship and the National Championship
  • The ‘84 varsity eight was undefeated
  • The ‘84 and ‘85 crews were the last two in a string of five straight national titles for the UW women
  • Eight members of these two crews were members of the U.S. National Team, and one (Chris Campbell) rowed in the 1988 Olympics, in the United States women’s eight
  • Three went on to coach rowing: Eleanor McElvaine was head coach at Washington (and also served as a national team coach); Sara Nevin was an assistant at Cal before taking over as head coach at Mills College in 2011; and Liese Hendrie (now Rajesh) coached at Lakeside School in Seattle.

Induction into the Husky Hall of Fame is one of the greatest honors bestowed by the University of Washington Athletic Department. Since its inception in 1979, the Husky Hall of Fame has welcomed 200 members to its prestigious ranks. Members exhibit skill in their sports, success in academics and the highest character and qualities that represent the very best of what it means to be a Husky.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on Sunday, Oct. 21. For more information, including bios of all of the inductees, go to