Washington Rowing has had an alumnus in each of the last 13 Olympic Games and in 17 of the last 20 Olympiads.

UW athletes have earned at least one medal in each of the last five Olympics, and in six of the last seven. In total, UW alumni – men and women combined, counted indiviidually – have earned 46 Olympic medals in rowing.

Counting this year’s 18 UW alumni headed to the Olympics and Paralympics, UW coxswains and rowers have made 125 Olympic appearances, dating back to the nine men who won Gold in the U.S. men’s eight in Berlin in 1936.

Counting this year, Washington Rowing alumni will have competed at the Olympics for 12 different nations: Australia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, South Africa, New Zealand, and the United States.

The United States has sent a women’s eight to the Olympics every year since 1984 (the 1980s games were boycotted by the U.S.). In those 10 Olympiads (1984-2020), the coxswain of the U.S. women’s eight has had a UW connection in nine: alumna Betsy Beard Stillings in 1984 and 1988; current head coach Yasmin Farooq in 1992 and 1996; alumna Mary Whipple Murray in 2004, 2008 and 2012; and former UW men’s team cox Katelin Snyder Guregian in 2016 and 2020.

United States

Benjamin Davison, ‘18
Samuel Dommer, ‘14
Dani Hansen, ‘16
Megan Kalmoe, ‘06
Adrienne Martelli, ‘10
Robert Munn, ‘12
Samuel Ojserkis, ‘12
Ambrose Puttmann, ‘12
Hans Struzyna, ‘11
Kerri Simmonds, ‘11
Katelin Snyder, ‘09
Liz Vogt, ‘15


William Crothers, ‘09
Rosie Debouf, ‘10
Robert Gibson, ‘08
Conlin McCabe, ‘12
Patricia Obee, ‘14

Great Britain

Fiona Gammond, ‘15
Ruth Whyman, ‘14


Pietro Zileri, ‘17


Maddie Cordner, ‘14
Stuart Sim, ‘16 (selected men’s 8+ coxswain)

New Zealand

Kirstyn Goodger, ‘14


Dusan Milovanovic, ‘13